Why become a member? ×

Truss rod nut stripped...

SkinnyMike

Iv managed to strip the truss rod nut on my MIm Fender jazz with my allen key earlier today whilst adjusting the action.
Needless to say im furious about this, however does anyone know how I could solve this problem without getting a new neck?

For example is it possible to replace the nut easily?
Alternatively iv thought about getting a slighlty wider allen key and a hammer...

Suggestions?

StewMac does a tapered Allan key tool...............

Like most Stewmac special tools, it's horrendously expensive and your family will be repaying it unto the third generation........

[url="http://www.stewmac.com/shop/Tools/Special_tools_for:_Truss_rods/Gripper_Truss_Rod_Wrenches.html"]http://www.stewmac.com/shop/Tools/Special_...d_Wrenches.html[/url]

G.

will the truss rod unscrew and then be replaced by a new one
the idea of a tapered allen key sounds good...
when i worked as a fitter and we broke a tap in a hole we would drill out the tap...and use an extractor tool
this sounds much what a tech could do...
best of luck with such an unfortunate situation

[quote name='velvetkevorkian' post='542248' date='Jul 16 2009, 02:03 PM']Depending on the nature of the truss rod nut, a guitar tech may be able to remove and replace it- I had it done to one of my basses and it cost all of £10.[/quote]

Ahh this make me feel much more at ease :)

Well I know I can buy a new truss rod nut for a couple of quid which wont be a problem, its just getting the darn stripped nut out thats going to make me go mad!
Ill probably go to BnQ tomorrow and have a look at what they have, hopefully they will provide me with a tapered allen key tool or something similar.

Am I correct in thinking by turning the truss rod nut anti-clockwise enough it will simply unscrew out?

Edited by the_house123