Why become a member? ×

Superfly Help

The_D

I have been gigging my Superfly for about 3 years without an issue. No squeeling on certain presets and no major hiss anywhere.

In practice last week on Tuesday it cut out. I wasnt getting any input signal at all. I switched it off and back on and It lit up like usual but when the lights all settled the highest EQ bar was lit right up and none others were even on and still no input signal.

I switched it off and on again... same deal. Out of pure frustration I switched it off again and slapped it (quite hard) switched it back on and it all worked only to cut out again 2-3 songs later.

I am not cranking it too much I have the gain set really low and use the output signal to get volume. It happened again at practice on Friday night then again a few times at our gig tonight. I eventually swapped it out for a back up H¦H head unit I have to finish the gig. BTW slapping it worked every time to get it back on.

Has anyone seen this before or similar on another solid state amp? I will be dropping it off at the local repair dude I know but any pointers to get him started would be nice as it might only die after playing it for a while. If he cant replicate the fault then he might not be able to do anything.

Help me obi wan, you're my only hope!

I remember when we bought our first colour telly, about 1974, after a couple of years it started to go on the blink and every time this happened, my Dad would slap it and it came back on. This went on for a good few years and I naturally assumed, as a young boy, that if something didn't work properly, then a good old slap would sort it out.

This has served me well throughout life. :)

How much did you pay? Three years is a good innings for one of these, maybe time to retire it if the repair is going to be costly.