Why become a member? ×

Double bass sources and options - help please

Hello all,

Looking for some advice or input please!

I've been playing double bass for around 25 years now. It's been mainly my second instrument behind bass guitar and for the most part I've played in a jazz context. I started with a Zellor student bass for a few years then 'graduated' to a Bulgarian Kremona bass around 15/20 years ago - I can't remember.

Anyhoo, point is this. I've never really considered my bass, my set up or my gear. Late last year I investigated and spent a little time cleaning my bass up and attempting some basic TLC, the effect was fantastic - a significantly improved sound and playability. No surprise perhaps!

So now I am curious. Might I benefit from checking out different basses, strings or even set up. But where to go in order to do this? I'm based in Norwich, East Anglia.

Thanks!

As Beedster says, a good set-up would be a solid start. Even tiny things like a slight adjustment to nut height can make a big difference to playability and sound.

Then maybe do a bit of research on strings to see which ones might suit your usage, and buy some secondhand strings on here to experiment with.

If you're genuinely looking at other basses, the Double Bass Room is probably the best place in the UK to try a room full of basses of all shapes, sizes and ages at the lower end of the price spectrum (ie £1k to £6k).

Thanks both

I'm suitably comfortable in my own skin to look down this particular rabbit hole I think! Also, by no means set on changing the bass itself, that's just one of the many factors no doubt.

I guess the question is really any recommendations in my neck of the woods? I'm not blessed with lots of free time so extensive travel is a challenge, would be great to find something a little more local. I will check out the bass room you mention Joe

Cheers!

Setup is a good start, but you reach a ceiling, beyond which a better bass is the only way.