Why become a member? ×

Help please with Dorian confusion!

Amazoman

Hi my knowledgeable friends. I was looking at  a YouTube lesson regarding the Dorian scale. It seemed to suggest that this mode could be played over any chord progression and it made reference to countless tracks that had used it. So say you were playing a 1,4,6 progression in A major the Dorian mode would be a B Dorian. Now Bm is not in the progression and the only chord that is minor is F# m. So could you or should you not play B Dorian. I know there are better options to pick but it was simply this notion that Dorian could be played over any changes.

I'm far from an expert, but I'd look at it in a different way.

You can play anything over anything (even a chromatic scale), it just depends what effect you want to achieve, e.g. something harmonious or dissonant, something bluesy/jazzy/funky, etc.

Whatever you play over any particular chord in a key will sound different depending on the notes in that chord. E.g. if you play an A major scale (A B C# D E F# G#) over an A major chord (A C# E), some of those scale notes are going to sound pleasing, others might sound more tense and feel like they want to resolve to a chord tone. The notes of B dorian are exactly the same as those in A ionian (i.e. A major scale), so the same applies.

However, ignoring the chords you're playing over, each mode has quite a distinctive sound, so if you play a melody that starts on B and plays up/down B dorian a bunch, it'll have a very dorian sound, quite different from than if you'd started on A and played A ionian up/down.

Thanks both for taking the time to respond. Sorry iconic, can't remember which video it was, I look at so many!!! I think it could have been a Dan Hawkins one. I understand what you say Oomo. I was just curious about the notion that so many songs incorporate the Dorian mode. I am just trying to branch out a little from chord tones and pentatonics which I know all work well.

• 3 weeks later...