Why become a member? ×

Ya aaaaaaaaaalright like?

beardybass

Afternoon/ evening/ mornin'

I'm new to the forum, been playing bass for about 8 years ish. I studied at Newcastle college of music then decided to try something new, so I buggered off to Japan, whichis where I am now.

Back home I played mainly upright, a cheapo stentor guy, but also a six string yamaha a four string peavey and a fretless six string that I had made for me by a guy in Newcastle.

Over here I've got a japanese fender jazz (which is awesome by the way, if anyone is considering one, I say do it!) and an Aria electric upright bassy-thingy.

Interestingly enough, I bought a 100watt Laney amp over here, and it cost me less than the 60 watt one I bought back in the U.K. which is of course where the company is from! What's that all about!!

Anyhoo.... Hello

Dan

Hi Dan

I'm the guy that built your 6 string fretless - anybody in Japan copied it yet?

The design was so good people said I should patent it and when I mentioned it you said you wanted it patented white - so I did.

Just a thought - if four other guys called Dan moved to Japan before you, you could be a fifth Dan without even taking up Judo.

Enjoy yourself over there and keep in touch via this wonderful forum

Hey guys, thanks for the replies :)

Good to hear from you Howard, how you been? I couldn't bring the sixth string over, so it's bein' looked after by my Dad back in Durham! I spoke to him today, says he's been playin' it a lot! That's a great bass mate! You should be well chuffed with that, I really miss it actually, makes me feel good to have the first one like!

As for the playin' side of things, I've done a couple of gigs over here, a lot of jazz goin' on, people are all about the live jazz in Japan like! But no, I'm not playing professionally, I'm actually working at a private English conversation school, planning to head back to the U.K. in a few months to get back to playing.