Why become a member? ×

Lurker out of hiding

AM1

Greetings

I'm a newbie, based in London.

Currently stuck between the choice of two basses - Warwick Streamer Stage 1 or Fender Jazz (marcus miller).

Tough call!!

Anyone selling either bass is welcome to PM me.

Hopefully Santa will bring me a bass! :)

Regards

AM

Hi, thanks for the welcome.

So that I understand properly, how does the chemical treating of wood actually impact the water/environment in which dolphins live?

Notwithstanding the chemical issue you described, which of these two basses do you rate highest, from a sound/form factor perspective?

Cheers

AM

[quote name='AM1' post='347551' date='Dec 6 2008, 10:30 PM']Hi, thanks for the welcome.

So that I understand properly, how does the chemical treating of wood actually impact the water/environment in which dolphins live?

Notwithstanding the chemical issue you described, which of these two basses do you rate highest, from a sound/form factor perspective?

Cheers

AM[/quote]

If the chemicals are disposed off safely, they don't (providing you don't take your bass in the sea).

It's when they enter the water supply that the problems start. If no one bought products treated with dolphin harming chemicals then the risk would be eliminated....

Apologies, I haven't quite figured out the quote function here.

One has to take a pragmatic approach to environmental issues. That means that it is realistic to consider the possibility that, although your intentions are honourable, it is simply not realistic to believe that one can prevent all consumers from buying products with harmful products.

There are masses of chemicals used every day in multiple manufacturing processes, which can harm dolphins, if they enter the water supply. The root cause of the problem needs to be addressed to see any change and the way to do that is to be realistic that consumers will still buy items treated with harmful chemicals. The chemical usage itself is what needs to change.