Why become a member? ×

Berklee, Rockschool, formal tuition & exams malarkey

Barking Spiders

The Blues, jazz, rock n roll, punk, metal, hip hop, folk...all came into being against or independent of the establishment. Now, Berklee, Rockschool and similar types of institutions offer graded exams. Would you have wanted to pay to study bass at one of these types of places or d'ya reckon taking exams goes against the original spirit of rock n roll? Have a gander...

[url="https://www.rslawards.com/music/graded-music-exams/bass"]https://www.rslaward...usic-exams/bass[/url]

Edited by Barking Spiders

It depends what you want achieve I guess. I studied at ICMP in London. First of all on their Higher diploma, then I did their 3 year BMus course, graduating last year with a very respectable honours degree, I'm now doing an MMus course at Goldsmiths.

There's a lot more to music than just playing whatever genre you're comfortable with. It forces you to leave your comfort zone, playing music that you've maybe never been interested in. I studied jazz, fusion, country and western, metal amongst others. You also get to do composition, arranging , writing (academic), dissertation etc, music technology.

I had coffee with my old programme leader a few weeks ago, something I said to him, that he was impressed by was, studying shows you what you don't know you can do, you end up discovering a lot about yourself.

I'd never written a piece of music before, just bass lines for bands. I've now got licensing contracts with 2 production music companies.

Edited by ambient

[quote name='Barking Spiders' timestamp='1472743847' post='3123852']