Why become a member? ×

Sold
£999

Jellyfish

[size=5][b]Really need this gone. Price is down to [u]£900.[/u][/b][/size]

Due to financial circumstances, I am having to put my [i]only[/i] bass guitar up for sale. Luckily, I am not a musician by trade. :)

I purchased this Dingwall Combustion in March from Bass Direct after being blown away by it at the London Bass Guitar Show earlier this year. It has an Alder body with a 5-piece Maple bolt-on neck. The neck is a wonderful thin 'D' shape and feels entirely comfortable to me (as someone who prefers slimmer necks). The fretboard is Rosewood and consists of 24 frets with an 18mm string spacing at the bridge. [b]For more details, and sound-clips, click [url="http://www.dingwallguitars.com/basses/combustion/"]here.[/url][/b]

I opted to upgrade the stock pickups to the FD3 pickups. Here's a bit more about them: [b]Our Neodymium powered FD-3 pickup coils mounted in Combustion shells ready to install in your Combustion 5-string bass. These pickups will increase your output, frequency response and dynamics compared with the stock pickups.[/b]

I also upgraded the stock knobs (nice looking plastic things with a terrible thread) to some much more robust metal dome knobs that tighten with an allen key and actually look and feel nicer. These were professionally fitted by Guitar Repairs & Spares in Birmingham. While the knobs were getting replaced, I also paid for a full set-up, resulting in perfect intonation and my ideal string height (a medium-low) and also for the new strings to be fitted. The new strings are [b]Payson Nickel-Wound[/b] (45-130) and have been on for around a month now. I don't play enough for them to be anywhere near dead yet. :)