Why become a member? ×

Getting to grips with a big muff...

tombomb

So been playing just over a year. Starting to get to grips with it a bit, but fancied a new project.
Decided to try to build myself a pedal.

Found a board design here:
[url="http://www.generalguitargadgets.com/pdf/ggg_bmp_pcb.pdf?phpMyAdmin=78482479fd7e7fc3768044a841b3e85a"]http://www.generalgu...68044a841b3e85a[/url]

I work in a school so spoke to our DT technician and he found some old boards.

Stage 1:
Cleaned the boards up a bit with some emery and transferred the circuit onto them using an iron.
Plan tomorrow is to put them into the acid, etch the circuit and drill the holes.
Here's what I've done so far...

[attachment=110831:copied circuit.JPG]

They need a couple of gaps filling in. I'll do that tomorrow.

Any tips for a first time pedal builder?
I've not sourced a box,jack sockets or pots yet.
Hoping to get resistors, caps etc from my science technician...

Nice, you can't go wrong with a big muff. The choice of diodes (two per set of clipping diodes) make a big difference to the sound. effectively you can 'tune' the fuzz sound by swapping out diodes - Germanium will give a lovely, organic softer sort of sound and silicons will melt your face. Which kind of Silicon diode depends on you, but they're cheap as chips and it's a lot of fun trying them out.

Cheapest place I've found for enclosures, pots etc... is Dr Tweek

http://www.doctortweek.co.uk/shop/catalog/browse?shop_param=ecid%3D5%26

He's got loads of stuff on there.

Edited by paul_5

I play blusey rock mostly, by face melting do you mean like crazy fuzz?

Ovs I won't get it from this but I'm in a Mel Shacher phase at the mo.
His tone (and ability) are something for me to properly aspire to.

His sound apparently came from killing the tubes in his West.

I can't bear to go in Maplins. But am worried I might have to for this. I'll check dr tweak first.