Why become a member? ×

SFX Loop Logic vs S&M: Split and Mix

Thor

Hi All,

I'm just trying to get my head round the fundamental difference between these two pedals and wondered if someone out there could explain? Whether they'd be suitable for what I'm trying to achieve? Or whether there may be something else more suitable that perhaps I've missed?

[url="http://www.sfxsound.co.uk/mainpage.asp?page=custom_shop"]http://www.sfxsound....age=custom_shop[/url]

[url="http://www.sfxsound.co.uk/mainpage.asp?page=sm"]http://www.sfxsound....age.asp?page=sm[/url]

Essentially I'm wanting to split my signal chain into 2 loops and then be able to either run my signal dry, dry+loop 1 (most likely a modulation type loop), dry+loop 2 (a dirty loop) and I'd also like to be able to blend/mix loop 1+2 together?

I think the Split & Mix may be the answer for what I'm trying to achieve, and at a reasonable price, but thought I'd ask for advice as I'm still a relative noob to effects. It's a shame there's no "published price" for the loop logic - unless I missed that on the website? I had also looked at a Boss LS2, but don't think that has the blend capability?

I'd appreciate any advice/feedback from you seasoned guys/gals and what/how it best to achieve my goal.

I hope this makes sense.

Pete :)

If you want to run dry as well as a loop the Split and Mix is out, as you can only blend the 2 signals together when it's active - Therefore you would have to leave one loop empty to blend your clean sound with any effect.

The LS-2 can do all that, but you would have to switch modes, which depending on whether you need different combinations of that in one song would be pretty difficult to achieve while playing.