Why become a member? ×

Compression settings for a modern rock tone

Wil

I've got a DBX 266 XL rack mount comp. I used it for the first time last night, and I could tell it had a lot of potential, but I'm new to using a full featured compressor so might need a little guidance. I've read the excellent compression FAQ so have an idea what each control does, however I'm still a little unsure about where I should be setting the threshold control.

I play at a moderate pace with a fairly soft pick most of the time, Greenday-esq rock/punk I guess - for a punchy tone, should I set the threshold so that all the notes I play show, say, a 6db gain reduction, and then adjust the output gain accordingly, or should I be setting it so that only the very loudest peaks trigger the gain reduction meter? Just wondering what tree I should be barking up before I start playing with the attack and release settings.

Edited by Wil

This might not be as helpful as you'd hoped, but the best way to set a compressor is to play as you normally would, and keep making adjustments to it. You sound like you know enough about how they work so just keep fiddling with it til you get a fine balance of the dynamic range you want, and enough gain to bring the volume back up to where it was should add a nice punch. Usually in rock pretty much everything stays at the same level especially the bass. I play metal and I have my threshold at max and the ratio set to infinity, with the gain set to get the volume back. I get no tone colouration from mine though and save that for other pedals :).

I hope I've kinda been helpful! Hope you get the right settings for you, and hav some real fun playing!

[quote name='Wil' post='1222026' date='May 6 2011, 10:34 AM']Just wondering what tree I should be barking up before I start playing with the attack and release settings.[/quote]