Why become a member? ×

Not Currently Available

geoffbassist

I'm afraid my work over the next few months is looking really hectic and I'm not able to accept any new students. I will update the page when I'm back teaching in a few months or so.

Geoff Chalmers Professional Bass Guitar and Double Bass Tutor now available in Leeds.

My background:

I teach (and play) both bass guitar and double bass professionally.

I completed my undergraduate music degree at Leeds College of Music in 2004, where I studied bass guitar with Zoltan Dekany specializing in jazz. Following my jazz studies, in 2008 I accepted an RNCM scholarship and took up a place at the Royal Northern College of Music to study classical double bass with Roberto Carrillo-Garcia, section principal with the Halle Orchestra.
Whilst studying at the RNCM I was supported by the Martin Edwards Jazz bursary and the Rega Heesom Award.

I have worked as a full time professional freelance bassist since 2004. In that time I have played in numerous theatre shows, pop function bands, jazz ensembles, Latin music groups, recording sessions etc. I have worked throughout the UK and also worked abroad.

I also enjoy teaching and am bass tutor on the degree and masters course at Hull University. I have also taught in schools since 2003 and have experience in teaching beginner-advanced students in all styles of music. Although I feel that I specialize in jazz bass I am happy to teach whatever style of music students want to learn. In addition I cover all techniques.

I am CRB checked and available to teach at my home in Kirkstall Leeds
I also have a bass lessons section on my website. [url="http://www.geoffchalmers.com/basslessonsinleeds"]http://www.geoffchal...slessonsinleeds[/url]
For any other information please PM me and I will give you details of fees and availability.

Thanks Geoff

Edited by geoffbassist

I had the pleasure of being a student of Geoff back in '03 through '07 (I believe, it's been a while!)