Why become a member? ×

Bass Questionnaire Questions

jackp86

Hi
My name is Jack I am a bass player I play both bass guitar and string bass. I am currently studying the MA level in popular music. Part of the course requires that I do a project into an area which interests me.
I have chosen to research into the role of the bass player with the shift from the string bass to the bass guitar within the 1950s to present and including popular music styles. I was wondering if you could please help me by answering a short questionnaire in relation to this, to form a true opinion.
Thank you for your time and for helping me with this.

Jack

1) How long have you been playing Bass Guitar/String Bass for or both?

2) If you don’t play string bass/bass guitar have you thought of doubling up on either to get more recognition as a bass player?

3) Who are your favourite exponents of both string bass/bass guitar?

4) Do you think that both the bass guitar and string bass are important as bass instruments?

5) What genres do you think are important for bass players to listen to?

6) Do you think electric guitarists can learn to play bass guitar more than string bass?

7) Do you think bass can be used to solo as well as accompany other instruments?

8) Do you think it is important to learn to sight read?

9) What do you think of bass guitars such as 5 string/6 string e.g. as being an add-on to the bass players role?

10) What are your opinions on electric upright basses as a substitute for the string bass?

11) What is the best amp to use for bass guitar or string bass?

12) What pickups for string bass are the best for capturing the natural tone of the instrument?

[quote name='jackp86' post='692295' date='Dec 23 2009, 01:07 PM']Hi
My name is Jack I am a bass player I play both bass guitar and string bass. I am currently studying the MA level in popular music. Part of the course requires that I do a project into an area which interests me.