Why become a member? ×

Help a total novice newbie set up the DB

Raslee

Hello DB'ers, I've recently sold my Stagg and tuck the plunge in buying a wooden bass, albeit a grade B cheapish Gear4music double bass that needs fixing up. I've got the bits and put it together now but not sure which way the middle wooden bridge goes?...it seems to slope down more on one side...would that be the E or the G side. I've also broken the E & A string upon tuning, i think the strings were weak crap quality ones so am ordering some better ones, they had been bent too!!!.
Also does moving the bridge allow for lower action, my action seems really high...or do i file the bridge or similar? some of you old timers are probably cringing at my Q's but i literrally do not have a clue :) ...also if anyone know anyone who does set ups near south Devon let me know. Thanks in anticipation for your responses.

I've done the same thing by buying a cheap double bass from gear4music a couple of years ago...I had my bridge on the wrong way round at first - the flat side of the bridge should face the floor otherwise it would be quite easy for it to fall over (also watch for this when you tune up when you put the bridge on).

I also took loads of height off the bridge by deepening the slots with a set of little files I got in Focus and then sanding the top of the bridge down to meet the new depth of the slots...I did this with the bridge on the bass by loosening two strings at a time - thought I should keep some tension on there because I didn't want the soundpost to fall out, but I've heard the soundposts in these chinese basses are wedged in quite tight.