Why become a member? ×

Recording interface and MIDI controller questions

amj

Evenin' all

In the coming weeks I'm going to be setting myself up with one of the new iMacs. Only the basic spec, nothing too exciting!

Now, I've been wanting to set up some kind of recording software for quite some time now, moreso just to roughly record ideas at the moment, with a view to perhaps starting to get down some ideas via soft synths and the like. However, seeing as I'm new to this stuff, I'd appreciate a bit of advice when it comes to how to run my bass into the mac. I'm assuming I'll need some kind of interface, or can I just go straight in? With regards to software, I'm gonna be using Garageband to start with, but maybe switching to Pro Tools once my dad sorts me out with a copy.

My second question concerns the midi controller, can anyone recommend a nice cheap midi controller? I'm not too fussed about having weighted keys and all that. I'm no piano virtuoso by anyone's standard so I don't need a massive range, just enough octaves to mess around with.

Cheers!

• 3 months later...

Protools is hardware specific, you can't just get a copy and away you go, there is a version that'll run on some m-audio stuff tho, otherwise you're looking at digidesign hardware. TBH I'd ony recommend protools if you intend to invest serious cash in a protools hd system one day, otherwise Logic, Digital Performer etc are probably better cos they work with most hardware.

garage band is prety good for newb, and'll keep you entertained while you work out Audio Unit effects and instruments. Once you've got your head round GB, I'd recommend the new logic express (if you plan on staying with apple)- its cheaper than pro-tools, has a more modern interface and will lead on nicely from your gb experience.