Why become a member? ×

Orange Bass Terror - Mini Review and tips on getting the best out of it.

Stub Mandrel

I've had my Bass Terror for two years and done plenty of gigs with it. I wrote a summary for someone who asked what makes it special, and I thought it might be useful here.

I've been gigging one for two years. One line summary:

It's a hybrid amp, so you need to use gain to drive the valve input for the tone you want, and the master volume sends this to the clean class D output stage.

The main benefits are:

Valve tone - if it's the 'classic' Orange overdriven without ridiculous distortion tone that's important to you, then this amp has it.

Great basic tone - the amp sounds good with bass, middle and treble at 12 o'clock, and the controls give good shaping without being too severe.

Controllability - it's easy to find a place on the gain control (usually between 1 o'clock and 3 o'clock for passive basses) where you get a signature, only slightly raw, tone that can easily be overdriven by digging in - but the point does change between basses.

A switchable clean tone - if you want it.

Power - loud enough for anywhere, I saw Diamond Head use one as backline at Manchester O2, which is huge.

Plenty of headroom, helped by natural compression of the valve input stage - no compressor required to access that power.

Light - easy to carry.

Pad for active basses.

Very reliable DI with ground lift, I use this at 90% of gigs as I can shape the tone I send to the PA, including that control of the overdriven sound.

Speakon connectors.

Downsides:

Light, I have to strap mine down so it doesn't vibrate off the cab.

You can't use a jack speaker lead so you need a spare speakon (but I think jack speaker leads are poor IMHO).

Very powerful, so hard to adjust for low volumes - not suitable as a practice at home amp unless you use the pad with a passive bass (which means you lose the overdriven sound).