Why become a member? ×

X32- fx to monitors

scalpy

Hi all, some help with the behringer x32 producer desk please! I’m no sound engineer so bear with me here. 

Our singer has splashed out on one of these desks for our 8 piece band as he’s desperate to use in-ears. However he’s left it to me to learn how to do it. I’ve managed to set up linked sends for stereo in ear mixes, and can get FX to the front of house. I can do dry monitor mixes on the various sends but…..

When I send reverb to the monitors it gets applied to all the instruments in that mix. I’d like to be able to send reverb on the vocals only without adding it to the drums and keys for example. Any YouTube videos I’ve watched on the matter either seem to be wrong (checking the comments) or like trying to fly the starship enterprise. 

Any suggestions would be most welcome. Thank you

Harry

I can't recall off of the top of my head - it's been a while since I fired my X32 rack up!!!  I can dig it out out early next week and go through the settings for you early next week if that helps?

Edited by DaytonaRik

From memory it's not overly difficult but is a two-stage operation - add the FX required into the slot, then send the channels you want to that FX, after that, determine where the outputs of that FX go to - Aux, FOH etc - some band members might not want the FX in their feed, others might.

To understand the signal flow, it can help to imagine it like an old fashioned analogue desk where the reverb is another unit off in an outboard rack. 

You have a send knob on each channel that goes to the reverb unit You send vocals, maybe snare and toms, and the acoustic guitar. Those things are all mixed together and sent to the reverb as one chunk of sound. Reverb is applied to the whole thing, and comes back to your desk on a single channel as "reverb tails of everything".