Why become a member? ×

Aching wrist - Bad technique?

Geoff

I have been playing bass for 7-8 years now and for the last 4 years I have been playing a Sandberg Bullet, which has a single Bartolini set half way between the bridge and neck. I have never had any major issues with my hands or wrists hurting, but recently I bought a Sandberg California (PM config) and every so often I am finding that my right wrist is aching quite badly.

Now I dont know whether this is because of the layout of the pickups and the way the bass sits when I am playing, as I have noticed my fingers are splayed out quite a bit, rather than being parallel to my thumb as they do when I was playing the Bullet. I love the sound of this bass and the feel of the neck, I just dont know whether it is going to be too much of a pain to play, or whether a simple change in technique will help.

Anyone else had trouble like this and managed to sort it? Are P basses harder to play with fingers than J basses, or am I just more rubbish then I think?

I wouldn't expect the pickup placement to have much of an influence on wrist pain. The length of the strap might be a problem, if it is too short. Is that you in your avatar? If so it looks like you have a pretty straight wrist when you are playing. Can you play with a lighter touch? Do you do exercises and warm up before playing?

Firstly, which wrist - left or right?

Secondly, regardless of which one it is, exercising a straighter wrist and a relaxing more will relief strain and prevent aching, particularly in combination with stretching and minimising movement.
- If it's your right, ensure you keep a straighter wrist when plucking, try not to anchor your thumb as this introduces bending and tension; check out the floating thumb technique for tips on how to mute better and counter this issue.