Why become a member? ×

Rack case advice

GreeneKing

[quote name='GreeneKing' post='347374' date='Dec 6 2008, 05:41 PM']'Google this'!

I'm new to the idea of using a rack case. Is there a problem with using two amps and a tuner in one rack case? (Main and backup).

Will a Korg DTR-2000, a Hartke LM500 and a Markbass LMII squeeze into a 4U case.

That's it!

Peter[/quote]

Rack cases are great, SKB Gator etc. are all light and durable, WoT has a good un but it is deeper than my Gator. Bear in mind that not only do you get different heights, you get different depths (but none of the items mentioned wouldn't fit in a standard depth). You'll not fit your set-up into a 4U though, IIRC the MB is 2U, Hartke (probably at least) 2U and the tuner 1U. Ideally you might want a bit of air space between them, you need to conside the combined weight to. Individually they might not be much but add in the weight of the case and suddenly you may find it starts looking big and heavy... especially if you allow 1U space between each component; a 7/8U rack is a big old thing!

That's great John shoulda known you'd come to the rescue :)

I was thinking along the same lines with sizes and the weight thing. I've already got a 3U Warwick rack bag with the Hartke in it and that'll do nicely.

I've order one of these:

[url="http://www.flightcasewarehouse.co.uk/music/typeproducts2.asp?id=3680-4677"]http://www.flightcasewarehouse.co.uk/music...sp?id=3680-4677[/url]

and I'll put the Korg and LMII in that and nothing will be jammed in too tightly.

Sorted :huh:

It's all too easy to carried away with cramming stuff into racks and end up with something unfeasibly heavy. Even a 6u case with a non-lightweight amp and the rest of the slots filled with rack fx and tuners can be more than a 1 man lift.

Of course the great advantage of a single rack with everything in is that you plug your bass into the front and you speaker(s) into the back and you're ready to go.