Why become a member? ×

Teaching bass

bassjamm

Hi guys,

I'm thinking of starting to get into teaching bass a bit more. I've dabbled before but never really seriously so or anything like that. One thing i've always found hard is what to teach a student, and how to get that across.

Do any of you have any advice? I'd be interested to hear how you'd take a complete beginner and the sort of process you'd follow?

I've thought about getting a few books to follow, or some of the grade books but didn't know whether thated work or not?

Anyway, any thoughts or advice would be really great thanks guys.

Jamie

Responsibly.

I always tailor each lesson to the specific needs of the individual, using what motivates them to progress and tying it in with the core professional skills and knowledge. If some whats the intro to a Guns & Roses song, I will explain what key it is in and why and teach them what they want to know and why it works.

Thanks for your reply...

But what about teaching from the ery start, how do you approach that? The student may want to learn the latest and greatest bass line but they may not yet know how to play even the simpliest thing...how do you help them get the basics down/what order do you teach them the basics etc?

Someone that much of a beginner I would encourage to learn how to tune the instrument and then teach them some really basic bass parts to 'get them going'. I would then start to give them some basic information regarding names of strings and scales to give them something to pin them to.

i use and have been using the book Bass Guitar by Gregroy and Vinson (IIRC) to teach for the past twelve years.

the way this book is written and set out makes it easy to help someone find their way through the potential maze of techniques and 'great songs'

all of my pupils, past and present have learnt huge things from this book, and it is a great starting point to start peoples creative juices going whilst learning basic techniques.