Why become a member? ×

Are Yanks Welcomed?

hoytbasses

Greetings: I just discovered this page.

Karl Hoyt here from Cape Cod, Ma, USA

I'm a 50 something bassist/trumpeter who has played in 'weekend warrior' bands his whole life usually gigging 3-6 x/month.

mostly R&B and Jazz , but have played in country bands, bluegrass bands and big bands... I currently play (on call) with an up and coming Lady from the UK named Zoe Lewis......

For my 'day job' I teach high school students to build acoustic and electric guitars and I build a few stringed instruments on commission myself.

I'm a dad of 3, grand-dad of 3, and ride a Norton Commando!

Take Care and thanks for letting me in :-)

Karl Hoyt.

[url="http://www.hoytbasses.com"]my cheesy webpage[/url]

hey, those basses are pretty awesome man. i grew up in Stratford, CT and they never taught us any luthier skills in high school :)

Stratford is pretty rubbish though.

anyways, welcome :huh:

EDIT: just thought i should mention, i've had a good look around your site now, the basses are beautiful and i totally agree with your philosophy about "playable, go-to" basses. i only saw one EUB on there, do you have pics of others that you've done? i'm not in the market at the moment but i plan to be in a few years time, once i finish uni.

Edited by escholl

I'll respond to all who commented :

Thanks for the nice comments; yes, I do have more pix of EUB's.. e-mail me if you're interested in that.

yes, I lurk around TB sometimes (that's how I found out about this site)

and I don't teach at the college level, they are high school (age 14-18) age kids......

here's an in-progress pic of a EUB I built a few years ago for a professor at berklee: wild and completely able to be disassembled. he plays all over the place and the whole bass fits into a hard-shell golf bag!