Why become a member? ×

Pedal Chain Advice

Marcus

Hi Guys,

i've never used effects live before and am in need of some advice about how best to wire up some pedals and in what order etc

The Pedals I will be using are :

Electro Harmonix Bass Balls

Boss ODB3

Aphex Fat Bottom Exciter

Apex Punch factory (compression pedal)

Should I use them via the effects loop or inline ? on a combination ?

Should the compressor be last or first

AnyAdvice welcome

Thanks

Mark

[quote name='BassManKev' post='258082' date='Aug 8 2008, 01:45 PM']id personally go for the order youv just wrote them in, inline, but it all depends on what you prefer, just experiment[/quote]

+1 although i'd put the aphex xciter after the compressor :)

aint nothing wrong with messing around with setups till you find the one you like best

I use the Aphex Punch Factory and Bass Xciter too on my pedal board, I'm not sure which the best way round to put them would be yet but personally I'd put both of them before everything else. I like to put the stuff that goes towards my basic 'tone' before any effects, which I think of as being seasoning that I'd add on top of the basic sound. I was also told that its much more difficult to compress a distorted sound effectively than a clean tone.

Edited by Oscar South

If you put a compressor before a dynamic follower (bass balls) then you are restricting the effect that your playing dynamics will have on the follower. If you put a compressor before a distortion pedal that reacts nicely to your playing dynamics - again the same issue.

It depends on what you're using it for, but I would always have my compression towards the end of the chain for these reasons.

Hi Guys

Thanks for the input...... I can see there is merit in experimentation... I can see why a compressor befor the bass balls wouldn't be the right route....

Any opinions on using the 2 Apex units in line

and then the Bass balls and ODB3 in the loop ?

Mark