Why become a member? ×

Hello peeps!

Nick Riffed

Hi,
What can I say about me?
I have been playing bass for about 13 years.
Prior to that I bought a used bass and amp from a second hand "we sell anything vaguely music related and electrical" shop that smelled of weed and soldering and put it in a corner and left it for about 8 years.
The bass is a Hohner B2A headless jobbie and the amp is a Custom sound Cub 30.
I still use them both to practice.
I am now the proud owner of 8 various cheapo basses, 3 x 6 strings, a 5 string fretless acoustic and 4 x 4 strings all of which get the reaction of " it's a what?" when people ask what they are.
I reckon in total they wouldn't add up to a couple of grand.
The most expensive cost me less than £250 and the cheapest cost me £20.
I use them all at home, gig with 4 or 5 of them.

I have an Ashdown ABM Evo II 300 1x15 combo for smaller venues.
I have an Ashdown ABM Evo II 500 head which I run through a 4x10 and 1x15 Behringer Ultra bass cabs with Ali cones for the bigger places.

I came to here to see if I could gain some futher info on my latest acquisition.
I have long wanted a British built Bass and decided to go about finding one.
Yes, I play 6 string basses but I like my 4 strings to have a fairly narrow neck. This has.
I wanted to have hand wound British pickups. This has.
I wanted something a lot less common than a Fender. This is.
Laminate bodies seem to be gaining popularity with some big named makers. This has one.
I wanted something with a bit of history to it. This Bass was built in 1963.
I wanted something that would never be worth less than I paid for it. Fingers crossed.

I am now the proud owner of a £100 Vox Bassmaster. Lol.

I'm sure it will fit in very well with all the other cheap Basses.

I am currently playing with a Blues band but tend to lean more towards rock.
(Any Rock bands looking for an aged Bass player in South Hertfordshire, apply here.)

Am I the only one that hates the term 'Bassist'?

:thank_you: