Why become a member? ×

Some advice for head/cab

lessthanphil

Hey guys,

I'm sure a similar type of question has been asked before, but I didn't have much success with the search functionality on the forum, so if you don't mind I'm going to ask away :)

So first a little bit of a boring backstory so you can see where I'm at. Basically, I'm a guitarist by trade, but recently (January) I filled on on bass in a mates band and I've become permenant! Actually really enjoy delivering the basslines so I'm sticking with it.

I started out with an Orange Crush 30B practice combo which I really like the sound of (for practicing obviously) and hiring what I think is an Ampeg 450H hooked up to an 8x10 Ampeg cab from our reheasal studio (it sounds great, really like the tone).

Now I'm going to start gigging with these guys and obviously I'm not going to be able to do so with a 30 watt pratice amp. Consequently I'm in the market for a bass amp I can gig with.

What I would really like is an Ampeg SVT3-Pro, but it's a little bit pricey to be honest. For quite a bit less cash I've found the GK700RBII head and it looks like a good bet. I've heard that the low end GK stuff is a bit pants, does this head fall outside of this category? Would this be a good choice of head for general rock/pop-punky/metal (i don't slap/pop, but love the punky tone in bands like rancid, pennywise, blink etc) ? Or should I wait and try and pick up a used SVT3 or save the extra needed? Can you replicate an ampeg sound to a decent level without an ampeg?

The second quandry is which cab to hook the head up to. I would use GK cabs, but to be honest, I haven't really seen any bassists playing through them (except flea, but that's probably down to him getting them for nout).