Why become a member? ×

Buying decision help

Lotusmark2

Those look quite different bits of kit. I have no direct experience of either, but the Fender looks like a practical
tool, whereas the Ampeg just looks cute. I'm a sucker for cute little amps, but the reviews I've seen of it basically
say "given that it's toy-sized, the sound is not bad", which I read as saying it's crap, but not as crap as you might expect.

And if you compare the new RRP of the Fender and the Ampeg, that'll give you some idea of their relative merits.
A lot of people on here would strongly recommend buying 2nd hand as that'll be much better value. Of course, it
depends who the seller is, how trustworthy etc, and how likely the amp is to be in good shape and reliable.

If its 90% bedroom use, the Ampeg looks better, and you get to say you have an Ampeg stack - which will earn you bass player kudos in the pub. Although If you're playing in the pub the Ampeg microstack is only 100w and it'll probably struggle. If you want to do gigs I'd get the Fender out of those two.

However....
Can I ask why you have narrowed your choice down to two amps that are not even remotely similar?
Do you like the sound? The look? Or are they just the two that you have found that fit your budget

I love the sound of both brands bass amps, so in this case I`d look at the practicalities. The Ampeg looks great, but I would doubt it will have enough power for gigs, even small gigs, unless acoustic. I just can`t see it coping in a band with drums. I reckon it would be heard, but you`re not likely to get a really full gigging sound from it. The Fender however will be more than enough for gigs.

Great feedback guys
Main reason for the two amps is that I had narrowed down to the Ampeg but then I got first refusal on the Fender and at the same price as the Ampeg it got me thinking.