Why become a member? ×

greetings from preston

KennysFord

hi all.
ive been browsing the odd bass forum for a while,from first impressions a lot of them are so far up there own chuffers it kinda put me off.not here me thinks,a very open minded bunch,good sense of humour and the place for me.
so i thought id better post a few on here and introduce my self first.
ive been playing different instruments on and off for the last 10 years,mainly acoustic but was never really inspired to take it to a higher level.I finally found my calling,saw the light,met my destiny at the tender age of 43 when i picked up my brothers jazz bass last year.Mmmmm i thought.......... this could be it,what ive been searching for.Anyways.. a year and a half later im still totally inspired and lovin' the low end.
My first bass was a £40 fleabayer but ive since progressed to a MM sterling hs,an 80's riverhead 5 string MM copy and a jazz bass.
Musically my first love is funk,soul,motown etc(im a relic of the northwest jazz funk scene from the late 70's early 80's) going slightly leftfield im into bluegrass too.
So thats me for now.im looking forward to being a fully fledged BCer and thanks for looking.
pete. :)

Hi Bob,
hehe,she'll still be getting a dose of the blues.
ive recently re-discovered an artist from my youth "Ram John Holder",seriously nice early british blues !!
Without wanting to enter into the "teaching ya'll how to suck eggs"syndrome,if you're not familliar with his stuff you should check him out.there's a few tracks on his "myspace"site from his album black london blues.I prefer one of his other albums though "bootleg blues",deffo in my top 5 albums of all time.Could i find it online though,not a chance.
enjoy. :) :huh:

Btw,he was one of the characters in The desmonds,porkpie i think.

Edited by kennyrodg

[quote name='kennyrodg' post='170179' date='Apr 5 2008, 11:40 AM']Hi Bob,
hehe,she'll still be getting a dose of the blues.