Why become a member? ×

Difference between Ampeg SVP Pro Preamp blackface vs hammerite

73Jazz

I spoke with a really good amp tech and after i asked him if there is a difference between both versions, he could only confirm that there is one, but doesn`t know which one.
Is a fellow basschatter able to bring light in this darkness?
We are talking about those 2

i also checked the layout of both, and the seem to be the same..but this doesn`t mean much^^, as i am a tech noob
thanks in advance

i owned a blackface preamp before, but sold it due to getting a Sunn all valve head.
I thought i will not need it anymore.So "need" could be interpreted very broadly :)
I love those Ampeg Pre`s and bought an SVT IIP and recently the SVP Pro hammerite one.
As i had an awesome tone with the blackface one before and also got great tones out of those two,
i started to question if there is a difference between those two SVP Pro´s.

what makes the blackface obviously to the best one for you?

I'd always thought that people complained that the hammerite one was a bit noisy. Though I've never used one so I'm not one of them.

I've got blackface model and it's slightly less quiet (not noisy at all) than the SVT-IIP I a/b'd it with, but that was pretty much silent.

Though I'd imagine this would vary by each unit as well as (and if at all) by model.

[quote name='bigjohn' post='1247189' date='May 27 2011, 03:08 PM']I'd always thought that people complained that the hammerite one was a bit noisy. Though I've never used one so I'm not one of them.

I've got blackface model and it's slightly less quiet (not noisy at all) than the SVT-IIP I a/b'd it with, but that was pretty much silent.

Though I'd imagine this would vary by each unit as well as (and if at all) by model.[/quote]