Why become a member? ×

Finale 2011 vs Sibelius 6

EBS_freak

I've not really got enough experience on both pieces of software to give a fully valid opinion.

I've been using sibelius for about 6/7 years and find it incredibly easy to use.

I used Finale for about 2 years, just over a year ago, and personally found it quite amateurish compared to sibelius, and it seemed to take me longer to do what i wanted to do. But that could be down to being so use to sibelius.

From what i've read online, it normally comes down to what your using the software for. If you planning on writing scores and concentrating on playback using virtual instruments & all that side of it, afaik Finale has better routing options.

If its simply to write, print & save a digital copy, i'd recommend Sibelius.

I hope that makes sense :)

Been through a fair few progs to be honest and I know what you mean, there is always a slant. I was a long time Logic user but then I switched to Cubase... for no particular reason... and then I've been using tuxguitar as it's free. Whilst it's good for getting a scrapbook of stuff together, it's nowhere near the league of the big hitters - especially on the printing front, hence the interest in getting the scores looking good.

Historically, I would have been looking at Finale for the big scores (dabbled a fair bit with big band scores about 5 or 6 years ago) but now I'm now into my solo arrangements and getting a good looking print out for when I go senile and can't remember how to play them!

Hmm, I shall see if I can test drive a copy of both and see how I get on. When dropping that much, you don't want to get it wrong!

Edited by EBS_freak

[quote name='J.R.Bass' post='1057532' date='Dec 13 2010, 05:18 PM']I've not really got enough experience on both pieces of software to give a fully valid opinion.

I've been using sibelius for about 6/7 years and find it incredibly easy to use.