Why become a member? ×

Little Giant overheats

stevekendal

Just got a S/H Little Giant 350. Makes plenty of noise, but I did notice that there was no sign of a fan working inside. Tonight, towards the end of the gig it cut out, being quite hot and needed to rest a couple of minutes before the power came back on. Do these tiny things actually have a fan inside? Mine was being pushed quite hard and was definitely too hot when it cut out :) . Steve.

[quote name='stevekendal' post='947840' date='Sep 7 2010, 12:42 AM']Just got a S/H Little Giant 350. Makes plenty of noise, but I did notice that there was no sign of a fan working inside. Tonight, towards the end of the gig it cut out, being quite hot and needed to rest a couple of minutes before the power came back on. Do these tiny things actually have a fan inside? Mine was being pushed quite hard and was definitely too hot when it cut out :) . Steve.[/quote]

I’ve been using a Little Giant 1000 for a few months and I think the cooling fan in the top of the amp is wired to a temperature sensor, so that it only kicks in once a certain temperature is reached within the amp. But you should notice the fan operating briefly when you switch the amp on, which will confirm that the fan itself is working. If this happens OK on your amp, then it may be that something else isn’t working correctly, because I’d expect the fan should begin operating long before your amp gets so hot that it cuts out.

As has been said – this definitely sounds like a job for Ashdown’s technical support.