Why become a member? ×

Wiazard pup wiring

Jigster

can anyone advise - am waiting on a Thumper pup from Wizard and having a look at P bass wiring meanwhile - be gentle with me it's my first time -

Andy said to solder the white wire from the pup into centre tag of the vol pot, BUT almost all p bass diagrams I've looked at seem to put the white wire to the left end tag - was it more than likely a slip of the tongue from Andy, or is the Wizard pup doing something different?

cheers

Hi Rich

pics below - excuse shakey hand soldering.. :rolleyes: Neatness never was my forte :)

The wiring kit I bought was for Fender precision and came with a diagram so I've followed that. The only bit I'm unsure of now is that it shows a short wire going from the tone pot's far left lug to the the vol pot's far left lug as you look at it. Do I need that, as it doesn't seem to indicate that on other diagrams I've looked at?

All being well, now got the pups to do tomorrow when they arrive.

[attachment=58170:IMG_0830.jpg]

do you mean it's wrong ie. soldering is crap and it won't work :rolleyes: ,

or the positioning of stuff - you can't actually see as far as the jack on my photo, but all wires going to various points mimic this diagram, (apart from I took the ground to the tone pot instead of the jack socket) which is from Fender support on their website

[attachment=58175:SD0193200_02APg2.jpg]

true, the cap looks dodgy but it is clear of the other lug, altho not very tidy :)

Edited by Jigster

The soldering isn't too bad for a first stab at it.

I didn't read that you hadn't got the pups on yet - I presumed that the cloth covered wires were pup wires. :)

Yes you will need that wee bit of wire you mentioned.

As a tip you should aim to get the wires/components through the little eyelets in the pot lugs. :rolleyes:

It's no bother mate.