Why become a member? ×

Another long story

snip

Found this site a few weeks ago and like what I see, so I thought I would introduce myself....

My bass history is long and weird. I started playing in bands in the early 70's(that makes me OLD..!!). Played rhythm guitar in my first band, then we lost our bass player and we had problems getting another. Several came for audition, but none were any good, so in desperation the lead guitarist brought this old handmade bass along to the next practice session and gave it to me and said, why don't you give it a try. Naturally I was crap that night, but took it home and tried to get used to the feel of playing bass. When I turned up at the next session there was a marked improvement and I had thoroughly enjoyed myself. I never would have made a good guitarist, but playing the bass I could see and feel that I had potential.

Anyway after several bands I ended up in a band called Screw which played mainly our own material. We entered the Melody Maker contest in 1978(could have got the year wrong, but there abouts) and won the 1st round in the East Midlands. I remember we played two cover songs: Night by Night(Steely Dan) and Down by the River(Racing Cars). Well we were over the moon, but decided that we would have to do our own material if we wanted to win this competition, so we set about writing a new number for the semi finals in Birmingham. The song was not great and we failed miserably.

About 1980 I was getting fed up playing in bands, also the band was getting stale and I think the guys wanted to move on. It wasn't the playing/performance, I loved all that. It was all the other stuff that goes with it. Humping the gear, travelling, getting home at 1:00 in the morning. Anyway the rhythm guitarist and keyboard player were feeling the same, so we left. The rest formed a new band called Dawn Trader and did they do well..........