Why become a member? ×

fresher

treadmill

Not only am I a newbie, Im a newbie who doesn't play.

I have a tool, and my first lesson is a couple of weeks away, all paid up, so now I have a reason to practise and start watching youtube beginner lessons. But already I find myself engrossed in it all, spending too much time at work trawling every website that moves, and listening more intently to the bass line of everything on my ipod.

Some thoughts about how much practise is good, and how much is too much would be welcome.

Cheers
Jon

Welcome to the forum :)

I don't believe there are any hard or fast rules regarding practice. I try to play a few times a week maybe totalling 4-6 hours, plus once a week (2 hours) with the band and gigs on top of that. Play when you can. I think you can practice too much - you need rest in between!

I would say that playing with other musicians will help you improve your playing so much more than solo practice.

Hi and welcome :)

Congratulations - you're just about to start having some enormous fun. As regards how long and how often you should practice - well, over time, that's entirely up to you. I've heard of some pro's practising 8-10 hrs a day! I'm [i]not[/i] a pro; I do an hour or two, maybe every other day. Everybody's different and there's no set rule. Whatever works for you.

I'd discuss this with your tutor, but suggest you consider that you'll be using certain muscles in a new way, and it's easy to damage them if you practice too long and too hard in the first month or two. Any hint of pain - give it a rest for a while and see how things go.

Make sure you've got a decent, well-supporting chair and sit upright. If you're practising standing up, make sure your bass isn't hung too low - it can force you into crabbing your wrist round the neck and could give you carpal tunnel syndrome over time. :rolleyes: And mind your back. You'll soon notice that you've got 8 lbs of wood and metal round your neck!