Why become a member? ×

Another Markbass Question.......

spongebob

Following from my question about more power and the settings for my 121P 300w combo.....

If I want to attatch a seperate speaker, which one do I need? I've never done this before, so once again please be stupidly honest!

The Markbass site seems to be blocked for me, so any suggestions here would be great.

Does it have to be a Markbass speaker? I need something lightweight if poss.

On the other side, I've been offered a barely used Jeff Berlin Markbass combo half price on new. On paper, it looks like the same output as my current 121P. However, they do retail at quite a bit more. Is there some power difference? Would it be a better bet? Or is it just the same with a slightly different tone?

Any suggestions on this please! :)

[quote name='spongebob' post='533938' date='Jul 6 2009, 05:10 PM']Following from my question about more power and the settings for my 121P 300w combo.....

If I want to attatch a seperate speaker, which one do I need? I've never done this before, so once again please be stupidly honest!

The Markbass site seems to be blocked for me, so any suggestions here would be great.

Does it have to be a Markbass speaker? I need something lightweight if poss.

On the other side, I've been offered a barely used Jeff Berlin Markbass combo half price on new. On paper, it looks like the same output as my current 121P. However, they do retail at quite a bit more. Is there some power difference? Would it be a better bet? Or is it just the same with a slightly different tone?

Any suggestions on this please! :)[/quote]

It need no tbe Markbass it definitely MUST be 8 ohms in impedance though (less will cause the amp to let out the magic smoke).

You need a proper speaker cable - NOT an instrument cable, use of which [i]may[/i] rapidly result in the letting out of the magic smoke