Why become a member? ×

My first drum recording

biro

Hi guys,

I've finally managed to lock my drummer inside our rehearsal room to record some drums for our new self produced EP. this is my very first attempt at recording drums, and if there's something I really want to point out is that everything I know about it I've learnt from some (excellent, in my opinion, yet - obviously - not really exhaustive) youtube tutorials.

We used a 200-Euros-worth 8-microphone mic set, an Alesis IO 26 8-channel audio interface, my trusty 4-yo acer laptop and a couple of behringer studio monitors. Everything was recorded in reaper, and I managed - don't know how! - to resist the temptation of adding lots of plugins. what you're going to hear is the raw, unedited mix (I've just made some panning, and fixed a couple of phase issues).

I'm pretty happy with the results, but I think there's plenty of room for some additional editing. adding gates and eq's aside, I don't really like I think I will have to face some harsh to make the toms sound clear and loud. In my opinion they're tuned too low. Plus, I'm not really digging the snare: the resonances are too loud - although this issue could be partly solved, with reasonable ease, adding a smart eq to the overheads tracks. I'll try to fix it in some way.

What I really don't know how to fix is my drummer's brain. I'm still wondering where he got the idea of humming the guitar part... damn idiot! ;)

I would appreciate a lot if could take a couple of minutes and give me some feedback!

The track is attached.

Thanks a lot.

[attachment=21049:victordrums.mp3]

Not bad, you've probably pointed out already all the things i would say.

Snare def needs some work, needs eq'ing and possibly is a bit too loud in the mix. I've had good luck before actually micing up both sides of the snare with 57's or whatever your preferred mic is.