Why become a member? ×

Hey all!

~tl

Hello, my name is Tom and I'm an addict...

I've been a long time lurker here, but thought I should really register and introduce myself!

I'm currently living in Glasgow, in my 3rd year of studying for a MEng in Electronics and Music. I'm having a blast, but not really finding enough time for bands. I will need to put a bit more effort into getting something together soon, though I've been saying that ever since I moved here! In that vein, if anyone's looking for a temp/permanent bass player in Glasgow then give me a call!

I've been playing bass for about 12 years, though I've been exposed to it for my whole life. I grew up playing my father's '63 Precision through a '70s Hiwatt 100. I couldn't have asked for better equipment to learn on really! My main bass these days is a sunburst, Fender CIJ '62 Precision. I've had it since 2005 and have gradually been upgrading bits on since. Currently it's got a gold-anodised scratch-plate, Badass II, Bartolini pups and Schaller strap-locks on it. Got a set of Schaller machine heads on their way, along with replacement knobs since the originals don't fit the shafts of the CTS pots I put in when I rewired it. I guess that when I've done that the only original bits will be the body and neck... so I guess that's the end of me upgrading it, unless I start re-replacing parts! The neck on this bass is just feels "right" to me. I've played a lot of MIA/MIM Fenders, and haven't found any that feel this good to play, so I guess I won't be replacing it any time soon! A little photo:

[attachment=14428:IMG_4234.jpg]

Amp wise, I currently only have a small Hartke combo. Since I haven't been gigging, I've not needed anything bigger and this is fine for practice and the odd jam. I've got serious GAS for a Shuttle 6.0, so we'll see whether temptation gets the better of me! Not sure what my neighbours would think though...