Why become a member? ×

How do you keep getting better?

simondee

Hey guys,

I've been thinking about this alot recently so thought I'd put it out there.

When I started learning bass I was really thrown in at the deep end by playing jazz, learning to read, learning fingerstyle before pick - basically all the things that are considered 'good' to do when starting out. I ended up a pretty quick reader and got pretty good at improvising from chord charts and locking in with drummers.

Thing is, this was ten years ago when I was still at school. I got to play with some great big bands with some very talented musicians, and I really had a sense after every good gig and long rehearsal, that I was genuinely getting [i]better[/i] as a bassist. It wasn't just the technicalities either, like 3 or 4 finger style, layering harmonics in and generally getting [i]faster[/i], it was more rounded and satisfying than that. I felt solid and confident and could do things month on month that I couldn't do previously.

I also got more respect from much older and much more experienced musicans that I was playing with. It was good times.

Which leads me on to the following:

At the moment I play in two bands, and technically, neither of them push me whatsoever. One is a poppy rock band, one is a metal band and they're both lots of fun. Thing is I worry that the basslines that I come up with now aren't as [i]good[/i] as they were when I was younger. The musicians I play with now don't have a shred of the talent of those I've played with in the past and I'm really starting to worry that as a consequence I'm stagnating as a player.

So my question to you guys is: how do you stay sharp and how do you keep on improving? What can I do to keep getting better as a bassist and a musician in general?