Why become a member? ×

Synth and FX Loop Question!

Ben Jamin

[color=#282828][font=helvetica, arial, sans-serif]This might sound like a pretty dim question, sorry![/font][/color]

[color=#282828][font=helvetica, arial, sans-serif]I'm looking into buying a synth next month to fulfill some baseline duties - band's gone a bit electronic recently![/font][/color]

[color=#282828][font=helvetica, arial, sans-serif]Anyway - I've never used the FX loop on an amp before - so I was wondering if plugging said synthesiser (mono output) into the Return input would allow me to play both bass guitar and synth simultaneously from the same amp? Bass going through the amp's pre-amp and synth just going straight to the power-amp? I have an Ampeg PF-500 which has an FX loop level which I could use to get unity gain between the two instruments?[/font][/color]

[color=#282828][font=helvetica, arial, sans-serif]Would that work or am I being silly?[/font][/color]

[color=#282828][font=helvetica, arial, sans-serif]If not I can plug into the second input of my VT bass Deluxe, but then I'd have to dance on my pedalboard to switch instruments [/font][/color] :([color=#282828][font=helvetica, arial, sans-serif] [/font][/color]

If you plug an instrument into the FX loop you are bypassing the preamp and EQ section, so you won't get a lot of signal. [size=4]If you plug the synth into the VT Bass and then into the FX Loop you may get a better result but you'd need [/size][size=4]a second VT Bass (or similar) for the bass, unless you can do without the VT for the bass which you would then plug into the preamp on the PF as usual...[/size]

[size=4]I don't [i]think [/i]you're going to hurt anything by trying it... but probably sensible to wait for a few more replies, I'd say! :D[/size]

[quote name='discreet' timestamp='1401445610' post='2463648']
If you plug an instrument into the FX loop you are bypassing the preamp and EQ section, so you won't get a lot of signal
[/quote]