Why become a member? ×

Greetings from Norway

jansenh

Hi all. What a great forum?! I've read some threads & topics, and really like the tone, attitude and conversations. Anyhow, this is my introduction:

I am 37 (male) from Norway, playing bass for 4 years. I have no background in playing any instrument since I gave up on music in school at age 13 ... I am an blues, rock and metal enthusiast, traveling to various festivals and concerts the past 20 years. And during all my experiences with live music, I always found the bass very fascinating. Then I decided to just start playing myself, life is to short to watch it from the sideline... Practicing a lot at home, having some professional guidance from time to time, and I have friends that a seasoned musicians helping me out. I am not really good at it, but trying to keep it simple, steady, modest and basic --- to support the rest of the band, and not shine through too much. So, I can make it work on a descent level. And more important: I enjoy it a lot!

Last year I started playing with a blues/rock cover band, and earlier this year I joined [url="http://www.myspace.com/escapetor"]http://www.myspace.com/escapetor[/url] . I also play at home with my 14 year old son on drums, and a friend on guitar - we play classic rock & blues covers.

For blues/rock I play a [b]Fender Precision 62 re-issue[/b] and for metal I play a [b]Warwick Corvette 5 string[/b].

My amp+cab situation is kind of frustrating at the moment: