Why become a member? ×

Bass 'clipping'

webby

Hi,

Had my 2nd rehearsal last night with the U2 tribute act I joined last week. All went well, played 17 songs to last weeks 11. Not bad seeing as I only started playing bass again a few weeks ago.

But, I've noticed something in the sound from my bass. When I play the A string I get a nice full, fat sound, but when I play the E string it kind of pops, or clips. Hard to describe, but the ultimate affect is that it is lower in volume than the A string. Is this the bass or the amp?

I made some adjustments to the pups, taking the poles further away from the E string, about 4mm now, cos I thought that might be why it's popping. Other than that I really don't know what to do. It's not really, really bad, it's just a little something I've noticed. I don't think the other band members have noticed it.

If I could sort it out, I'd be pleased.

Any thoughts?

Cheers.

[quote name='Ou7shined' post='986686' date='Oct 13 2010, 10:28 AM']There's a few different things it could be. Try another bass into your amp to eliminate it from the equation.
If it's an active bass have you checked your batteries?[/quote]

It's not active, thanks.

[quote name='chris_b' post='986707' date='Oct 13 2010, 10:43 AM']Take the bridge up if the E string is too low. Are you detuning? Turn up the volume and "dig in" a less.

Is the amp clipping? Turn the master up and the gain down.[/quote]

I think the E string is pretty high as it is, but yes, I'm detuning to Eb. I don't think the amp is clipping. There is a clipping indicator on it to warn me.

I'll try your other suggestions.

Cheers

[quote name='chris_b' post='986898' date='Oct 13 2010, 01:11 PM']There are some DR strings which are designed for detuned basses. They don't loose their tension as much as regular strings when tuned down. Maybe they would help.[/quote]

I'd never have thought detuning by a semitone would have an affect.