Why become a member? ×

Bass tutor advice

The Goatreich

Hey guys,
I've recently had a friend's younger brother coming over the house for some basic bass lessons. He started playing less than a year ago, and basically wants a hand in learning some of his favourite tunes, and also some pointers in theory and other methods such as slap.

I've been playing for 15 years on a non-professional level but during that time have had extensive experience of playing in a rock/metal style, which is luckily the genre he's into and wants to learn from, at least for now.

About a month into the lessons and I'm discovering that since I'm entirely self-taught I'm struggling to give him decent lessons that will help him in the areas he needs to work on that don't simultaneously bore him to tears and want to give up. The main problem area at the moment is time-keeping and following a beat. I have him playing major and minor scales up and down the fret board, along to a metronome set at various speeds, which feels like a proper lesson, but I can tell that he's quickly getting bored of it and his mind wandering and so we always move on to learning whatever song we're in the middle of learning at the moment.

Now, of course, I'm not asking any tutors on here to give up precious trade secrets and lessons, but does anyone have any advice on good ideas that I can show him to help him learn and nail the very basics? I try and think back to when I was at the same level and he is, and I pretty much just listened to songs and copied them, never really struggling with playing along to a beat (not saying I didn't, and still don't struggle in other areas :) ).

I would appreciate any advice people can give.

Cheers!