Why become a member? ×

Slap bass and harmonic problem

dash rendar

Hi all. I'm a complete newbie, so please be gentle!

I've been playing the guitar for a couple of years and would consider myself intermediate, but I had a bass guitar as a present this Xmas, so I've only been playing it a few days. It's interesting being a complete novice again! The guitar is an Ibanez SG400, in case that makes any difference.

Anyway, I've been trying to play some slap bass... My first goal is to play Hot Water. :)

The problem is that most of the time, when I slap the strings with my thumb, I hear the harmonic very strongly, but not the actual fretted note. So, basically, all I'm hearing is the much higher-pitched harmonics, which vary in pitch depending on where I slap the string at the pickups. But I never strongly hear the note I want to hear.

I thought it might be my amp setup... since I don't actually have one! I know it's a bad idea to use my regular guitar amp, and I don't have a bass amp, so I've been plugging my bass into a POD, which is plugged into a PreSonus interface, which is then monitored through my computer speakers. But if I play the bass unamplifed, I can still hear the harmonics and very little else.

Is this a common problem? Can someone tell me what I'm doing wrong? Thanks guys.

check that your pickups are screwed down properly. if they are loose, you get a definite 'squeak', it happened to me recently, and it was doing my head in until i figured it out..
edit - sorry forget that, i didn't read the bit about it being the same when unplugged !

Edited by phil.i.stein

I think it's just a case of working on your thumb technique-after all it's only been a couple
of weeks.
You don't need to hit the string hard,but you need to do it hard enough so that the fundamental notes is clear.
If you hit the string quite lightly you tend to get a effect the same as 'tapped' harmonics. It also helps if you
hit the string right at the end of the fingerboard.