Why become a member? ×

BOSS OC-3 Super Octave

iconic

Hi guys,

I really fancied a go at Tom Browne Funkin for Jamaica so bought myself a second hand OC-3, for the octaver part of it, but the sounds always seem to be sort of muddy, growly in a warbling sort of way, sort of flat, there also a sort of delay, it's so much audible more of a delay you can feel as you play...difficult to put into words :)

Are these things junk or am I looking for something it simply can't do?

Yamaha RBX-374 on std round wounds, thru a lil' Orange Crush 20w practice amp

This guy describes how to get the effect thru an octaver but as a rookie I'm not up to speed as I could be

[url="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w9IuItsLzuc"]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w9IuItsLzuc[/url]

cheers for the help guys

hi iconic, i'm hoping someone responds to this thread who has had some experience in octavers, as i am looking to get one soon..so sorry i can't offer any insight into your particular pedal. BUT i recently bought a boss syb-5 synth pedal recently,(on the strength of the online demo) and am startying to regret it. it simply does not respond quickly enough to playing frequent notes. i have only really found one useable live sound (a kind of digital fuzz), the other waveforms seem to follow my playing too far behind the initial input. i am therefore interested to see if this is a common problem with boss pedals. my favourite new pedal is my markbass compressore, so i'll be looking at their octave and synth pedals when finance permits, unfortunately i haven't seen enough reviews yet to make a decision..anyway good luck !

[quote name='iconic' post='686160' date='Dec 16 2009, 11:23 AM']Hi guys,