Why become a member? ×

Hope you can help with my stingray problem!

Amazoman

Hi,
Recently took delivery of my Stingray 4 (second hand off e-bay). Initially had a problem with crackles, weak and fading sound. I removed the control knob cover and gave the pots a squirt of switch cleaner. Also inserted a brand new battery. It appears to have cured some of the issues ie It plays, no crackles, volume knob controls the volume, BUT! The other three knobs seem to do absolutely nothing and makes no differenct to the tone or bass of the note being played.
Is it possible for the pre amp to have shot it and yet still play with reasonable volume? I expected the sound to be much punchier than it is.
When I opened up the control cavity all of the wires looked fine and attached but then again I am no expert and would not know how to test them.
Any suggestions what to do next?

I wouldn't start trying to repair it yourself.
The best idea would be to take it to someone who is a guitar/bass tech.
There are a lot of variations of the musicman preamp see [url="http://www.musicmanbass.org/default.htm"]http://www.musicmanbass.org/default.htm[/url]

An alternative would be to buy a john east preamp and get that installed.

[quote name='dub' post='626638' date='Oct 15 2009, 07:36 AM']I wouldn't start trying to repair it yourself.
The best idea would be to take it to someone who is a guitar/bass tech.
.[/quote]