Why become a member? ×

Jazz Bass Neck Width

spongebob

Did a search on this, but couldn't find a definite answer.

I'm no expert here at all, so please forgive my innocent questioning!

The Geddy J-bass - is the neck much slimmer than a standard MIM Jazz? It's the only Jazz I've eve touched, bar an old Squire.

I was just wondering about how the J-widths vary...are they all really thin? I like!!

I've also seen some nice photos of the Marcus Miller Sig. Anybody got one? Differences....and neck width??!!

All answers welcomed! :)

Define "thin" in your context, you seem to refer both to thinness of a neck (depth) and width (sideways at nut).

If you mean depth, yes, the Geddy's have the smallest neck depthwise, they're modelled off his '70s Jazz where he sanded the neck down himself to make it thinner.

The depth depends on Fender really and which profile they've used for the neck, they define the Geddy as a "Thin C-Shape", and their '75 Vintage Reissue as a "70's C-Shape" and the current American standard as a "Modern C-Shape. The Marcus Miller model is decribed simply as a "One piece C shape".

This part of the FAQ from Fender helps to describe them: [url="http://www.fender.co.uk/resources/faqs.php#q14"]http://www.fender.co.uk/resources/faqs.php#q14[/url]

The width at the nut for a jazz bass is always 1.5" (38mm).

I've not tried a Geddy Lee to compare, so someone else will be able to do a comparison (or you can search the forums again, as they are on here), but bear in mind there will be very small differences anyway between production runs.

Edit #billion: I'll also point out that the Mex Standard and apparently the Geddy Lee don't have Graphite rods in the neck for stiffness and support like the USA Standard does, so it's entirely probable that you could buy a USA standard and sand it to make the neck even thinner than a Geddy Lee model if you so desired (best to get a luthier to do it incase you go too far though).

Edited by Buzz

OK