Why become a member? ×

MT Power Drummer VST

Nicko

It's free to download from powerdrumkit.com..., so not a factor in choosing a DAW. It's very worthy (and free...), with a few 'grooves' that are easy to pull into the DAW. The sounds are convincing; although there's only one kit, so it fits the composition or it doesn't. A good choice for those inexperienced in drum VST stuff, and well worth its price. ;)

One very nice feature is the ability to send the mixer output to separate tracks in the DAW, which allows specific Fx, for instance; many 'simple' kits can't do that, so, if a 'slap-back' is wanted on the snare alone, or a light phaser on the cymbals, this is a Good Choice even amongst the free kits out there.

I have several VST drums (I'm a drummer, so...), which I use extensively, but this one is useful as a 'plug'n'play' kit when I just want to hear what the beat sound like. I'd choose another (expensive...) VST if I want to dive in further, but this one does a Good Job just the same. Can't go wrong for the price.

2 hours ago, Nicko said:

Can it really be as good as it seems for nowt?

It's free to download from powerdrumkit.com..., so not a factor in choosing a DAW. It's very worthy (and free...), with a few 'grooves' that are easy to pull into the DAW. The sounds are convincing; although there's only one kit, so it fits the composition or it doesn't. A good choice for those inexperienced in drum VST stuff, and well worth its price. ;)

One very nice feature is the ability to send the mixer output to separate tracks in the DAW, which allows specific Fx, for instance; many 'simple' kits can't do that, so, if a 'slap-back' is wanted on the snare alone, or a light phaser on the cymbals, this is a Good Choice even amongst the free kits out there.