Why become a member? ×

Hello from S. Yorks

ziggenpuss

Hi all, I've been lurking for a while and finally decide to join this fantastic community.
A bit about me- I'm 39, male, and currently livining in Rotherham S.Yorkshire.
I started playing guitar at 17 and joined a punk/new wave type band a year after playing original stuff with heavy influences from The Jam, The Clash, Elvis Costello etc.
Problem with the band was- no bass player! So, as the least able guitarist I was 'volunteered' for the duties. Not a happy bunny at first but after nailing a few of Foxton's line, Start, Down in the tube station, In the city and getting into Reggae via The Clash I became a proud plucker of the fat four!
My musical tastes are very eclectic and I apreciate most stuff except plastic Stock Aitkin & Waterman/X factor type tripe.
I've had quite a long tea break from playing and not played live for 15 years or so. In the interim I bought a Peavy Milestone III and a Carlsbro Baseline 55 to plonk about on at home.
A few months ago I decided to get back into it and start playing again so I bought myself a Squire VMJ, now I've never owned anything 'high end' so I can't really compare but to me it's the mutt's nuts. I've got my passion back for playing again and will hopefully look for a covers band next year when I've got round to getting a decent rig.
I've learned so much already from the knowledgable folks on this site and I hope to chip in now & again.
Cheers
Craig

Edited by ziggenpuss

Thanks to all for the welcome.

Eyup Monz, Barnsley lad eh? I'm originally a Dee-Dah, (for those not familiar with the rare languages of the North, that's what Barnsley folk call Sheffielders 'cos of how we speak -as in "Nah den, dee, dah Ba****d"-translation " I say, you there you person of questionable parentage)