Why become a member? ×

Advice from PA gurus required

KevB

New band I've joined are a bit short on firepower at the low end of the PA. Gigs booked next week so looking for a pair of 15" passives. Originally going to get subs to put current 12" mids on top of but has anyone just used 15" full range cabs and maybe disconnected the horns (bass drum will go through the 15's so don't really want to blow expensive horns) to then link up with additional speakers?. I guess full range cabs wouldn't have crossovers but I'm no expert. Looking at up to £300 for pair. Plenty of stuff on the web but I need to hear from people that are actually using certain brands and know they sound good. Cheers folks.

To be honest I wouldn't have thought anything decent at that sorta price level.... you could look for some Whafedale EVp15 that might be a good alternative. Just knocking out the horns in a pair of full range cabs won't work enough for sub bass... you need dedicated subs that have dedicated networks for the lower frequencies

You could try wharfedale - they do a EVP-X15B Subs at £175 each :

[url="http://www.e-av.co.uk/info.php?id=4525&PHPSESSID=8dde434e773f668c1e92e42b395fb3a1"]http://www.e-av.co.uk/info.php?id=4525&amp...e92e42b395fb3a1[/url]

I've used them in the past and felt they were pretty good for the money. Many places stock them so getting some should be easy!

Andy :)

Edited by backwater

Thanks for the replies. I'd looked at the Wharfedales but they are 4ohm, need 8ohm units really to match the other speakers. It probably won't have my bass going through it anyway but will have mic'd drums so need something with some bottom end. I'll let you all know if we get anything sorted this weekend.