Why become a member? ×

Recommend some technique study material for a beginner?

timmyo

Hello - I'm a guitarist (yeah yeah, boo hiss :) ) trying one more dabble with bass (last time I bought one to do this I promptly got swamped in band rehearsals on the guitar, but that's under control now and I've picked up a cheap bass again)

Anyway - obviously I have some degree of left hand coordination (although a virtuoso I aint !) but I'd like to start as I mean to go on in terms of technique (you know, avoid the pitfalls of self-teaching which I fell in to with guitar).

I've picked up Ed Friedland's 'Blues Bass' book (as that's the first sort of thing I thought I'd have a go at) and while I can ahck through some of the examples I can feel that my technique is all over the place - particularly the right hand (I play guitar with a plectrum but want to play bass with fingers where appropriate)

Is there an oft-recommended basic technique book/regimen I can pick up ? I looked through my local shop yesterday and most books seem to say "hold it like this, ok - jazz/blues/scales/whatever time!"

I did spot the 3-in-1 Hal Leonard/Ed Friedland book but (and I'm aware this might sound lame) I was put off by the notation only. I'm not going to be in any situations that require me to read, so it strikes me as one more thing to slow down the practice session. I'm open to being persuaded on that - but it'd need to be bloomin good persuasion. Anything similar that does not rely on reading the dots ?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions,

Regards,

Tim

[quote name='charic' post='283848' date='Sep 14 2008, 07:25 PM']Simply follow the following thread :huh:

[url="http://basschat.co.uk/index.php?showtopic=27470"]http://basschat.co.uk/index.php?showtopic=27470[/url][/quote]

yeah I've seen that - very good :)