Why become a member? ×

Belated hello :)

clagooey

Hi guys,

Thought I'd follow the general consensus and tell you guys a bit about myself! I know it's late, but I can be a lazy sod sometimes :huh:

So yeah. I've been playing bass for just over 5 years now. Started off, as many do, because I wanted to be cool and be in a band; and bass is by far the manliest instrument (which matters a lot to a 14 year-old boy!). My first bass was a Peavey Milestone III, which I still have (although I defretted it out of boredom and curiosity..), and my first amp was a small Fender 25W practice combo thing; which again, I still have. After a while I: bought a Fender MIM V J-bass; bought a Music Man Bongo 5 HH; sold my Fender cheaply to my church for Jesus-points; bought an 80's Vantage 4-string bass (no idea what model!); sold my Music Man; then bought Alemboid's fretless Overwater Progress III 6 string. Which is bloody fantastic! Unfortunately, my amp hasn't changed.. although that should hopefully be remedied very soon!

I had lessons from a guy called Don Chandler (who is now Craig David's bassist and an EBS endorser. Gargh.) for the first 3 years, until I got grade 8, and since then have been noodling on my lonesome. I used to like nu-metal type music and all the angsty typical teenage garbage, but have now moved on to more classical, Jazz and motown-esque music. I left the band that I started in after about a year due to differences in taste, and have been itching for something ever since. However, I play in my church evening band, and lead the youth worship band, so it's not all bad :)

I think that's more than enough for now! I never realised how much i could ramble.. I look forward to meeting more people from here though, as it's a pretty awesome community; I was registered on bassworld, and it's good to see that the same forum is still as great as ever!

Cheers,

Tom