Why become a member? ×

Ashdown MAG400 Combo

bedrovelse

Hi Guys.

Just brought this amp from a friend, yet I know absolutely nothing about it. I can't find anything on the internet or Ashdowns website.

Here's a picture.

If anyone can give some insight into this amp, what I can get out of it....etc...It would be very much appreciated.

(I'm a newbie when it comes to amps) but this also has a output for a cab extension which says 'min 4 ohm'. So I assume I can use my bands spare ashdown 8ohm cab with this thing?

Thanks guys.

Edit: Anyone know where I can get a manual for this?

Edited by bedrovelse

I think (corrections welcome) that they originally had the blue coned driver, so I'd be wondering if this has had the speaker replaced at some point.

In which case, I'd check to make sure it's an 8ohm one in there before connecting an additional cab.

[quote name='barkin' timestamp='1359285285' post='1952393']
I think (corrections welcome) that they originally had the blue coned driver, so I'd be wondering if this has had the speaker replaced at some point.

In which case, I'd check to make sure it's an 8ohm one in there before connecting an additional cab.
[/quote]

Yeah I think you are correct about the blue cones. My old combo had a blue cone.

To the OP: double check the speaker impedance before connecting an extension cab, just to be on the safe side.

Very nice looking combo, by the way. Quite a rare one and it looks in great condition.

Edited by RandomBass

Looking at the photo on a proper screen now, rather than my 'phone, and it looks like the woodwork at the bottom of the driver - in the center, above the port slot - has been removed...possibly to accommodate a replacement driver ?